AISA Awards 2020 

We have been overwhelmed with the number of nominations for the 2020 AISA Awards.  Congratualtions to everyone who was nominated.   As Australia’s peak body for Cyber Security, AISA has created these awards to recognise and promote excellence, innovation and professionalism in the area of cyber security by individuals, projects, teams and organisations.

Member voting has now commenced and closes on October 7 at 9:30pm.  Members must be current as at midnight. October 4. If you join from Monday 5 October you will not recieve a ballot.  If you haven't recieved your ballot, please contact  Winners will be announced in November.    

Award Nominees

Cyber Security Professional of the year (prize - $2000)
Highly experienced individual who demonstrates outstanding leadership, integrity, mentoring and coaching in the industry to both business peers and new entrants to the industry.

Nominees are

  • Craig Ford 
  • Amit Chaubey
  • Chirag Joshi
  • Dan Goldberg
  • Darren Kane
  • Dr Abu Barkat ullah
  • Ghian Oberholzer
  • Hai Tran
  • Joshua Riesenweber
  • Mike Ouwerkerk
  • Shannon Sedgwick 

Cyber Security Rising Star of the year (
$US7667 SANS course voucher)
Individual with less than three years of industry experience who is making a significant contribution to the field of cyber security.

Nominees are

  • Adrian Kells 
  • Ahmed Bilal Tariq 
  • Ahmed Falah 
  • Dune Sookloll 
  • Georgia Turnham 
  • Jacinda Erkelens 
  • Kylie Watson 
  • Luke Healy 
  • Michael Dumenil 
  • Poonam Deshmukh
  • Shae Potter

Cyber Security Enterprise Employer of the year
Large enterprises that have demonstrated excellence in promoting cyber safety to customers, staff, the supply chain and the community. Enterprise who have given training or employment opportunities to a large number of interns or IBLS from TAFE / Universities.

Nominees are

  • NBN Co
  • Trustwave

Cyber Security SMB Employer of the year
SMB organisations with less than 1000 employees who have helped engage the general community and other businesses to promote and improve cyber security capabilities and maturity in the sector.

Nominees are

  • CYBZA Pty Ltd 
  • Secure Code Warrior

Best STEM (science, technology, engineering and mathematics) promoter of the year
Best school, institution or program that promotes and encourages 5-25 year olds to enter the field of STEM.

  • CSC’s Top End P-TECH 
  • Girls in Cyber Security Advancing (GiCSA) 
  • Joseph Banks Secondary College 
  • North Metropolitan TAFE
  • STEM Strategy 
  • Yarra Ranges Tech School 

Cyber Security Outreach program of the year
The most innovative and impactful outreach program of an organisation which is focused on the education of their customers and / or suppliers resulting in a safer community

  • 0xCC
  • Cyber Volunteers Australia
  • NBN co
  • Queensland Law Society

Cyber Security Start Up of the year ($5000 and mentoring - CyRise and AISA) 
An organisation less than 5 years old that has brought to market a unique product innovation around cyber security.

  • The Australian Institute of ICT
  •  HackHunter
  • KBI (Karissa Breen Industries)

Cyber Security Educator of the year
Education body (TAFE or University) which has developed and implemented a comprehensive, flexible and easily accessible cyber security education program which delivers industry ready graduates to the market. 

Nominees are

  • Box Hill Institute 
  • Edith Cowan University (ECU) 
  • South Metropolitan TAFE 
  • Deakin University 
  • University of Queensland 
  • Victoria University Polytechnic
  • RMIT 
  • Charles Darwin University
  • North Metropolitan TAFE (NMTafe)

Cyber Security Researcher of the year ($2000) 
An individual or team of researches whose work will greatly improve cyber security safety for the community, organisations or individuals. Their discovery will be impactful and lead to additional theoretical or applied discoveries.

Nominees are

  • Dr Leslie F Sikos 
  • NBN co 
  • Professor Matthew Warren 
  • QuintessenceLabs 
  • Rolando Trujilo Rasua
  • Security and Privacy Research in IoT (SPYRIT) lab 

Cyber Security Tertiary Student of the year ($US7667 SANS course voucher)
Student enrolled in TAFE or University who has demonstrated outstanding commitment, skills and passion in the field of cyber security. In addition, they encourage and assist other students or the community to improve awareness and safety.

Nominees are

  • Aidan Reid 
  • Arash Shirvar 
  • Ben Armstrong 
  • Daniel Deliva 
  • Declan Miranda 
  • Emily Pendlebury 
  • Jake Silvestro 
  • Jett Potter 
  • Julio Del Cid 
  • Matthew Dockrell
  • Meidi van der Lee 
  • Peter Francisco 
  • Peter Nicolaisen 
  • Rajiv Faleiro
  • Sam Allen